Publications
October 28, 2015

Maine Workers' Compensation Alert: Board Revises Fee Schedule and Changes Reimbursement Rules

The Maine Workers’ Compensation Board has published a new Medical Fee Rule and made revisions to rules regarding reimbursement and expense payments, effective October 1, 2015. The following are some key changes:

New Medical Authorization

In the event that an employer/insurer seeks an injured employee’s medical records, the following limited authorization must be obtained from the employee. The release is also intended to be used to obtain medical records relating to an employee’s pre-existing and subsequent non work-related conditions. An employee must return the form to the requesting employer/insurer within 14 days. This is the only valid medical release that can be used. The authorization is attached here.

Changes to Reimbursement Rules

There are several significant changes for dates of service on or after October 1, 2015:

  • Payors must be able to process claims with either ICD-9 or ICD-10 code sets.
  • An employer/insurer can enter into payment agreements with providers:
  1. A written payment agreement between a health care provider and employer/insurer supersedes the maximum allowable payment otherwise available;
  2. A written payment agreement between a health care provider and entity other than the employer/insurer seeking to invoke its terms supersedes the maximum allowable payment otherwise available under this chapter only if the employer/insurer was a named beneficiary of the payment agreement at the time the health care provider signed the payment agreement.
  3. An employee retains the right to select health care providers for the treatment of an injury or disease for which compensation is claimed regardless of any payment agreement.
  • Health care providers may charge for completing an initial diagnostic medical report (Form M-1) or other supplemental report. The maximum fee for completing an initial M-1 form or other supplemental report is $30.00 per 10 minutes.
  • Health care providers may charge for copies of the health care records required to accompany the bill. The maximum fee for copies is now $5 for the first page and 45¢ for each additional page, up to a maximum of $250.00.

Changes to Rules Regarding Expense Payments

  • Reimbursable travel-related expenses now includes travel to the pharmacy;
  • The employer/insurer must pay the employee’s travel-related expenses within 30 days of receipt of a request for reimbursement. Out-of-pocket costs for medicines and other non-travel-related expenses must be paid within 30 days of a request for reimbursement accompanied by receipts.

To facilitate the payment of employee expenses, the Board has developed a new form which you can view here.

Firm Highlights

Publication

Maine WC Alert: MAE Unit Publishes Guidance on Compliance with Recent Amendments

The Maine Workers’ Compensation Board’s Monitoring, Audit & Enforcement Unit has issued a document to provide guidance on complying with certain recent amendments to the Workers’ Compensation Act in P.L. 2019, c. 344 (LD...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: Appellate Division Upholds Ruling on Reinstatement Provisions and Termination of Benefits

Maine WC Appellate Division Holds That Ongoing Noncompliance with Reinstatement Provisions in Section 218 Precludes Termination of Benefits for Expiration of Durational Cap Under 213 Section 218 of the Maine Workers’ Compensation Act provides...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: Appellate Division Reiterates Requirement to Trigger Retirement Presumption

Maine Workers' Comp Appellate Division Reiterates That Working in Customary Job Until Retirement Constitutes “Termination of Active Employment” Sufficient to Trigger the Retirement Presumption In Capitan v. NewPage Paper (WCB 19-10 [App. Div. April...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: Appellate Division Addresses the Issue of Timely Notice in Two Recent Decisions

For claims for which the date of injury is on or after January 1, 2013, unless otherwise provided by the Maine Workers' Compensation Act, proceedings may not be maintained unless notice of an injury...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: Appellate Division Clarifies Section 327 Death Presumption

Maine Workers' Compensation Appellate Division Clarifies Burdens of Production and Proof Regarding Notice in the Context of the Section 327 Death Presumption In Estate of Deyone v. ITG Brands, LLC (WCB App. Div. 19-7...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: New Legislation Brings Procedural Changes, Benefit Modifications

LD 756 (“ An Act To Improve the Maine Workers’ Compensation Act of 1992 ”), was signed into law by Governor Mills on June 17, 2019. LD 756 has an effective date of September...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: Appellate Division Rules No Consequences Under 218 for Deferment of Receipt of Old-Age Social Security Benefits

In Pratt v. S.D. Warren (No. 19-3 [WCB App. Div. April 30, 2019]), S.D. Warren appealed a decision denying its Petition for Approval of Discontinuance of Incapacity Benefits. An employer may reduce incapacity benefits...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: Latest Appellate Division Rulings on Health Insurance Payments, Social Security Benefits

The Maine Workers' Comp Appellate Division recently issued rulings in the cases of Rich v. Maine Turnpike Authority and Butler v. City of Portland. Health Insurance Payments Made by Self-Insured Employer for Health Insurance...

Publication

Maine WC Appellate Division Addresses Refusal of Suitable Work and Notice

The Maine Workers' Compensation Appellate Division recently addressed cases dealing with refusal of suitable work and notice. Both decisions rely heavily on the specific facts of each case. In the context of a refusal...

Publication

Maine WC Alert: Updated Version of Notice of Controversy (WCB-9) Must Be Used Effective February 1, 2020

Following the recent statutory changes to the Workers’ Compensation Act, the Maine Workers’ Compensation Board has updated the language in Box 22 of the Notice of Controversy. This new version should be used as...